post

Everyone Needs a Purpose!


“Because everything we say and do is the length and shadow of our own souls, our influence is determined by the quality of our being.”         -Dale E. Turner

Being driven by a purpose has its plusses and minuses.  I am on a mission to have this generation of teens prepared to meet the financial realities of adulthood with confidence and competence.  On the minus side, it sometimes feels lonely to live like this, it’s challenging to make sure I am not working on this project all the time—to make sure I am having fun, meeting people, taking care of myself, and staying on the lighter side of life.  It’s frustrating at times, to be at the beginning and to be a beginner…for years!

On the plus side, I never feel lost about who I am or what is important to me. I know what my life is for, and I know who fits in it and who doesn’t.

I have a few theories about how this relates to teens and money.  I look at my students, and I can tell immediately who is living with purpose and who isn’t.  In the extreme cases, the students at the high school who are constantly getting in trouble are the ones who don’t have a purpose or a vision for their lives.  They have given up on believing in themselves. 

On the other end of the spectrum are the students who absolutely thrive in life—in school, out of school, in their friendships, in their extracurricular activities.  These are the ones that are bubbling over with things to talk about. These are the ones that talk constantly.  They are overextended.  They help each other.  They write slightly off topic.  They are annoyed when I am not at my best.  They solve problems.  They hit walls.  They get past them.  They radiate “I am thriving in life.”  At the heart of the matter is that they have a vision of their lives and strategies to make it real.  It shows in their habits and their attitudes.

Not teaching them great money skills when they are young is doing them a disservice that we aren’t really facing.  I am talking about BOTH groups and all the kids in between.  Poor money habits and attitudes will be the first problem that undercuts them in their success as adults.

Having a financial goal AND the strategies to reach that goal is the BEST way I know of to support teens to have the lives they love.  It starts with a vision, then a goal, and then an education. 

Parents can start with your teen by asking them, “How do you want your life to go?  What do you want the next 30 years to be like?”  Then, ask them, “What role does money play in all of this?  How are you going to make this happen without a money management system that works?  When are you going to practice managing your money so you don’t have to learn it when you are trying to learn your profession?  How are you going to get off on the right foot?”

Then, you can provide them with the tools they require to get that started now.  Teens WANT to know they can make their lives happen; they WANT to know they are in the driver’s seat.  They WANT to know how to succeed.

Please take the pledge.  Join the movement of parents raising teens with great money habits and attitudes.  Be extraordinary.

© WealthQuest for Teens, Ltd., 2011 All rights reserved worldwide.

Comments

  1. Very inspiring Jill, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

