post

For teens, wealth building skills are life building skills.


Consider the habits and attitudes Sean Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, measures to determine the efficacy of his programs:

  1. I feel in control of my life.
  2. I care about the well-being of others.
  3. I exercise my mind by reading, learning, etc.
  4. People say I am a good listener.
  5. I set goals regularly.
  6. I am happy for my friends when they do well.
  7. Other people have valuable ideas.
  8. I begin each day by planning.
  9. I keep my promises.
  10. I prioritize my work and do the most important things first.
  11. I communicate well.
  12. I exercise regularly and eat healthy foods.
  13. I am organized.
  14. I enjoy working with others on projects.

(from The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teen by Sean Covey, on the last page of the paperback edition)

All of these habits and attitudes are developed by teens that are learning to build their wealth.  (Exercising and eating well, let’s be honest, are not directly required for wealth building, but they sure can’t hurt!!)

Can you think of additional habits and attitudes that aren’t on this list?  Please share!

© WealthQuest for Teens, Ltd., 2011 All rights reserved worldwide.

Leave a Reply

